5556 Caruth Haven Lane | Dallas, Texas 75225 (USA) | Phone: 214-363-9000

Officers / Board of Directors

Board Of Directors (2019-2020)

John W. Crain
Melanie K. Anderson
Ron Tyler, Ph.D.
Hon. Nikki DeShazo
James Bruseth, Ph.D.
Joan Casey
Mary Volcansek, Ph.D.

Hon. David D. Jackson, Founding Director


Chairman of the Board
John W. Crain

Gary N. Smith

Vice Chair
Mary Volcansek, PhD.

Hon. Nikki DeSahzo

Assistant Secretary
Hon. David D. Jackson

Jim Bruseth, Ph.D.


Advisory Council
Mitchell Fox
Kimberly F. Williams


Animal Protection Program Director
Melanie K. Anderson

Texas History Program Director
Gary N. Smith

Director of Administration
Lynne Starnes

Summerlee Foundation President To Retire June 30, 2018

The Summerlee Foundation (Dallas) has announced that John W. Crain will retire as President, effective June 30, 2018, and assume the position of Chairman of the Board for a two year term. Mr. Crain was instrumental in the founding of the Foundation, which focuses on the areas of animal protection and Texas history. He served as Texas History Program Officer from 1989-2015, in addition to serving as President from 2005-2018. He has been a widely respected leader in the Texas history community, serving two terms as a Commissioner of the Texas Historical Commission, and is a life member of the Board of the Texas State Historical Association.

The Foundation has also announced that Gary N. Smith will assume the position of President on July 1, 2018. Mr. Smith, who has served as Texas History Program Officer for the Foundation since 2015, has worked for many years in the Texas history community, serving as Executive Director of the Dallas Heritage Village for 18 years, and the McFaddin-Ward House (Beaumont) for 10 years. He is a past President of the Texas Association of Museums and taught museum administration courses as an adjunct faculty member at Baylor University for 10 years.

The Summerlee Foundation office was founded in 1988 by philanthropist Annie Lee Roberts. Since its inception the Foundation has distributed more than $ 40 million dollars to animal protection and Texas history causes.