5556 Caruth Haven Lane | Dallas, Texas 75225 (USA) | Phone: 214-363-9000

Foundation Announcements

July 1, 2018
For Immediate Release

Summerlee Foundation Change of Leadership

John W. Crain, long-time President of the Summerlee Foundation, retired on June 30, 2018 and assumed the position of Chairman of the Board for a two year term. Mr. Crain was instrumental in the founding of the Foundation, which focuses on the areas of animal protection and Texas history. He served as Texas History Program Officer from 1989-2015, in addition to serving as President from 2005-2018. He has been a widely respected leader in the Texas history community, serving two terms as a Commissioner of the Texas Historical Commission, and is a life member of the Board of the Texas State Historical Association.

Gary N. Smith assumed the position of President on July 1, 2018. Mr. Smith, who has served as Texas History Program Officer for the Foundation since 2015, has worked for many years in the Texas history community, serving as Executive Director of the Dallas Heritage Village for 18 years, and the McFaddin-Ward House (Beaumont) for 10 years. He is a past President of the Texas Association of Museums and taught museum administration courses as an adjunct faculty member at Baylor University for 10 years.

The Summerlee Foundation office was founded in 1988 by philanthropist Annie Lee Roberts. Since its inception the Foundation has distributed more than $ 40 million dollars to animal protection and Texas history causes.